Just Started Reading “Heart of Darkness”

I have recently started reading the novel Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad. My teacher stated in class that it was less than 100 pages, so I instantly thought it would be an easy read. I was wrong.

I’m only on chapter one right now and it took me awhile to understand what was going on. And to be honest, I’m not quite sure I understand it, even after reading many summaries online. I definitely don’t enjoy the novel so far, and I find reading it a pain. It is difficult trying to understand what is happening and this just gets me frustrated. I wish I had started reading it earlier on in my 3-day weekend, because feeling rushed and frustrated is not a good combination.

Frustrated.

Based on what I think I understand, I do have a few questions, like:

  • Why is Marlow the only person who has a name?
  • What is the significance of the two women knitting?
  • Exactly who is Mr Kurtz?

Here’s hoping for an easy reading quiz tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

