Harry and Hermione? What?!

Recently, JK Rowling has stated in an interview that she should’ve paired Hermione with Harry, instead of Ron.

Rowling is an artist and artists have the right to change their minds about their work. They’re like perfectionists and upon reflecting on their work, they’re like “Oh I could’ve done this” or “I shouldn’t have done that”.  Even though this is a bombshell, I am not too upset and bewildered about it. Why? Because the books have already been written, the movies already released, and Rowling is entitled to state her opinion. As gracious and polite as I may sound right now though, I still want to defend why Romione works, at least in my opinion.

Why I Support Romion

  1. They have a unique balance in their relationship. While Hermione is the witty and serious one, Ron is the light-hearted, funny one. I think this makes for a definitely unique balance.                                                                                                                                                                                                  
  2. I think it’s pretty cool that the main character doesn’t get the girl. I mean, everyone expects that to happen. Ron is often overshadowed in the book by Harry. Ron is known as the loyal best friend.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              
  3. The books have been released for years already (The first book was released in 1997 and the last book was released a decade later, in 2007.) Millions have read the series and have gotten accustomed (or have at least acknowledged) the fact that Hermione and Ron are a pair. I’m just used to having Ron and Hermione be together.
  4. I find their relationship to be very natural. Over time, their relationship with each other has only gotten closer and better.

This whole thing with Rowling changing her mind, in a way, slightly reminds me of the novel Frankenstein. Although Victor Frankenstein created the monster (and that took a lot of hard work to do so!), he was disgusted and had regrets over his creation. The similarity is only slight though!

3 thoughts on “Harry and Hermione? What?!

    • That’s a valid point. I might be too optimistic but I’m hoping this will die down and hopefully won’t affect future readers too much. Remember when JK Rowling stated that Dumbledore was gay? I remember being surprised because I wasn’t expecting it, but shortly afterwards, everything simmered back down and her statement slowly disappeared from my mind. Perhaps I’m too optimistic, haha.

      By the way, Jeyna, I checked out your blog and it’s awesome! I particularly loved your answer to the “First person I’ve Obsessed Over” question [Tom Felton]! haha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

