How awkward…

That awkward moment when everyone looks in different directions...

That awkward moment when everyone looks in different directions…

I’d like to say that all of us have at least one friend, family member, or someone who we truly appreciate and are thankful for. Personally, I have about a handful of people who I truly am grateful for. These people are the people who we go to for help, for a good laugh, for a set of ears, and many other valuable things.

How many of us have actually had a serious talk to these friends/family members about how much we appreciate them? Think about it… Would it not be a bit awkward having this type of conversation?

I have recently read and listened to an act in Shakespeare’s Hamlet. In this scene, Hamlet has a conversation with his one and only friend, Horatio. Hamlet tells Horatio how much he appreciates and respects him and Horatio can’t help but feel a little awkward hearing all of that. Who wouldn’t feel awkward in that situation? No matter how close you are to someone, if they suddenly come up to you and say something along the lines of, “I want you to know that I really appreciate and am thankful for having you in my life,” out of the blue…you would definitely feel a little awkward. Let’s not forget that they are two grown men talking in a secluded area. There is nothing wrong with two grown men having a deep conversation but it definitely raises the awkward factor between them.

Even if these types of conversations are awkward, sometimes they must happen. In Hamlet’s case, he faces the possibility of losing his life for plotting to kill King Claudius and so he feels the need to have this conversation with Horatio as soon as possible. As my teacher said in class, “If you knew today was your last day, you would be so much more open.” I completely agree with his statement. Hamlet does not know if his plan will succeed and he does not know whether tomorrow will be his last day or not, and so he wants to be open with Horatio now.

After reading this scene, I couldn’t help but imagine what it would feel like being in Hamlet’s shoes. I’d share all of my secrets and confess all of my wrongdoings. I’d have awkward conversations with all of my close friends and family members. I’d go to Disneyland and make dinner for my family. I’d buy gifts for all the people I care about. I would live my life to the very fullest. A famous quote keeps popping up in my mind… what was it again? Oh, that’s right!”Carpe diem.” Seize the day Hamlet; seize the day.

Leave a Reply

