It’s Finally Here!

Just a couple of days ago, my favorites music station finally started playing holiday music.  I thought to myself, “The holiday season is finally here!”

It really is the most wonderful time of the year in my opinion. Everyone just seems so excited and joyous during this time of year. I don’t know about anyone else out there, but my mind feels so relaxed and at ease during the holidays. It is almost as if though life is just simply perfect during this time of year because I would hope that everyone is preparing to celebrate with their loved ones and simply have a good time.

<

Even if it is for a short amount of time, I feel as though I can put away all of my troubles and sorrows during the holiday season and prepare for a time filled with love and laughter. The image of a warm room lit by the lights on the christmas tree with the smell of hot chocolate roaming around in the room while everyone bonds and spends time together is just simply divine. How can one possibly dislike the holiday season?
Actually, there are many reasons one can dislike the holiday season…
For many, it is a time of cheer and happiness… For others, it can be a time of despair and sadness.
This is one of my favorite christmas songs. Every time I listen to this song, I cannot help but cry and weep. This song reminds us that while many of us are celebrating, there are others out there that are still suffering and that we need to keep these friends in our prayers.

In the play “Hamlet” by William Shakespeare, Hamlet has to celebrate his mother’s wedding to his uncle on the same day as his father’s funeral.  While most of the people in the play is congratulating the newly wed couple, Hamlet is mourning for his deceased father all my himself.  No one cares to even try to console Hamlet or even cheer him up.  All king Claudius does is mock Hamlet and tell him to essentially “man up”.  Even if it is a time to celebrate, everyone in the play should have kept Hamlet in mind and at least ask him if he was feeling alright.

What I am trying to say is this… The holiday season is meant to be shared and experienced with others.  It is great that we, ourselves, are having a great time but we should always keep those less fortunate than us in our prayers and minds.   For the homeless man or woman, for the family living in poverty, for countries suffering from natural disasters, for Hamlet, this holiday season can be less than joyous.  Let us all keep those in need in our hearts this holiday season. On another note, here is my all time favorite holiday song.
I hope you enjoy listening to it as much as I do.

 

 

Leave a Reply

